Society for Asian and Comparative Philosophy
46th Annual Conference
June 19-22, 2014
SUNY Binghamton, New York

A Letter from the President
Conference Schedule
Campus Map
Printable Registration Form for 2014 SACP Conference
Visiting Binghamton


Keynote Speaker: Chenyang Li,
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Title of Keynote Presentation:
“Comparative Philosophy and Cultural Patterns.”

Co-sponsored by the Philosophy Department at SUNY-Binghamton (, the 49th Annual Conference of the Society for Asian and Comparative Philosophy ( will be held at SUNY-Binghamton’s campus in the beautiful environs of upstate New York.

The conference theme, “Universality and Particularity,” is designed to invite scholars representing Asian and cross-cultural traditions of thought to present research on the many aspects of commonality and specificity, from the degree to which they are found in things, knowledge or language to cultural and political perspectives. Of course, those who wish to participate are most welcome to submit abstracts and presentations on the widest variety of topics that correspond to their areas of interest as well. Our Keynote Address will be delivered by the renowned Professor Chenyang Li of Nanyang Technical University in Singapore, and he will speak to us about his important recent work on the aims and potentials of cross-cultural philosophy. The conference will also feature a special plenary panel on Buddhist philosophy, with presentations given by Parimal Patil of Harvard University, Gordon Davis of Carleton University and Emily McRae of the University of Oklahoma.

Lodging opportunities will be available at both the SUNY-Binghamton campus and at area hotels. Rooms available at the SUNY-Binghamton campus will likely cost between $30-$35 per night depending on single or double occupancy, and thus represent a very affordable deal, especially for graduate student participants. Further details will be provided to those whose papers are accepted to the conference.

2014 Conference Organizing Committee

Douglas Berger
Robin Wang
Mary Bockover
Michael Barnhart
Geoffrey Ashton
Franklin Perkins
Haiming Wen
Charles Goodman